Houston Astros: Three thoughts dissecting the Marisnick-Lucroy collision

Houston Astros outfielder Jake Marisnick (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images)
Houston Astros outfielder Jake Marisnick (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images) /
1 of 4
Houston Astros
Houston Astros outfielder Jake Marisnick (Photo by Tim Warner/Getty Images) /

Jake Marisnick’s collision with Jonathan Lucroy was luckless in the Houston Astros 11-10 win over the Angels. Here are 3 dissecting thoughts on the moment.

The Houston Astros‘ incredible come-from-behind victory over the Angels, unfortunately, came with a devastating moment during the game as Jake Marisnick’s collision with Jonathan Lucroy was a scary moment for the team. While it was an accident,  the fact that Marisnick is getting blamed by a former Astro is completely unfortunate.

A few days ago, I wrote about the upcoming Houston Astros series with the Angels being an emotional one. I didn’t think I would be writing about the emotional ending to this series. But it was a great series win for the Houston Astros although we gave up 10 runs in Sunday’s win.

Still, it was a remarkable comeback victory for us as we got a big grand slam from Yuli Gurriel that tied the game at eight. Then Yordan Alvarez tied the score at 10 with an RBI single in the bottom of the eighth inning. Finally, it was George Springer who came through with a walk-off win for us to end the first half with 57 wins.

But alas, we find ourselves in a controversial scenario again. What happened in the eighth inning is being talked about right now. With the bases loaded and one out, Springer hit a sacrifice fly to right, which was caught by Kole Calhoun. Jake Marisnick, who pinch ran for Alvarez, tagged from third and headed home. What happened was a collision at the plate, which Marisnick scored after running over Jonathan Lucroy.

Here is the footage from the play:

From what I saw, and I could be wrong by some, it looked like Lucroy was still inside the foul line, but he was expecting the throw from Calhoun to bounce and hit his glove outside the line for him to recover and tag Marisnick.

Jake saw or at least suspected that Lucroy was thinking the throw was outside and made a split second decision to go inside for the slide. But the throw was short and Lucroy went back inside to field the ball, which unfortunately meant he was vulnerable for a collision. Marisnick was ruled safe and Lucroy was down with an injury.